ETIAS: 56 Countries that Need This to Enter the EU

european schengen zone ETIAS area
European Schengen area. ETIAS photo.

Who Will Need ETIAS?

What is ETIAS?

ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) was announced in November 2016 by European Commission and came into implementation in September 2018.

The main reason behind implementing ETIAS was to improve the European Union Members’ security within the Schengen Area by data capturing of the travelers who visit the Schengen Area Zones without having a visa. For more information you can check here about the requirements and application process of ETIAS Authorization.

Traveler Screenings

ETIAS will exactly prescreen the travelers who don’t need a Schengen Visa. The Screening will exactly pertain to terrorist or migration risks involved in it. The main aim is to identify the individuals or Travellers who might involve in security threats before entering into the Schengen area.

ETIAS is very similar to U.S. ESTA and Canadian eTA which is not a visa but a visa waiver. Travelers will require an ETIAS from 2023 onwards while entering into visa-free European Member countries.

Who Will Need ETIAS Authorization?

You might not know which countries will need ETIAS from the 2023 year onwards. With the ETIAS which is going to be expected in the year 2024, countries with passport holders of 59 out of 62 countries that currently travel free with visas, will need ETIAS authorization to travel in European countries for business, travel, or transit for 90 days stay in 180 days’ time period. The information of the countries which need ETIAS authorization is mentioned below.

Eligible Countries Who Can Apply For ETIAS Authorization

The list of countries that might require ETIAS Authorization from 2022 while entering into European Countries and the list of eligible ETIAS countries are as follows:


Costa Rica

EI Salvador


Hong Kong




Antigua and Barbuda


Marshall Islands

Saint Lucia








Timor Leste





Bosnia and Herzegovina







United Kingdom






New Zealand

Saint Vincent

Trinidad and Tobago




Solomon Islands







Saint Kitts and Nevis

United Arab Emirates





How to Apply for ETIAS Authorization?

You can apply to ETIAS Authorization online directly by filling the ETIAS Form which takes about 10 minutes to complete the form online. It is online so you don’t need to go through all the paperwork for applying it.

You must give the details like your name, date, and place of birth, Citizenship Proof of your home country, address proof, email id, Phone number, education, and work experience, and name of the first EU country you are planning to visit.

Also, you need to answer few questions related to medical conditions or places where you were deported or rejected and any criminal records. The only document which is mandatory to carry into visiting countries is a valid biometric passport with an electronic chip into it. You can also apply if you are a minor or child or any disability travelers for ETIAS Authorization. 

Wrapping Up!

From the above article, you must have got enough information regarding the ETIAS authorization with the process to apply for it and the list of countries where exactly ETIAS authorization is required.

The main reason for ETIAS was only to improve the security threats into the countries where travelers are visiting. So, do apply for ETIAS authorization, if you are traveling to European Members Countries from 2024 onwards with a valid passport.

FAQ on ETIAS Authorization

Q. Do I need ETIAS Authorization, if I have a valid visa of Schengen Areas?

If you already have a valid Schengen Visa then you don’t need the authorization of ETIAS. As soon as your visa expires, you can apply for ETIAS and check if you are eligible to apply for it.

Q. How Long ETIAS is valid once approved?

An ETIAS is valid for 3 years long until you’re passport date is expired or from the date of approval, whichever comes on first.

Q. What is the exact cost involved in applying an ETIAS?

The exact cost which is involved in applying for an ETIAS is 7 Euros whereas the person under the age of 18 years and above 70 years of age is free from the ETIAS cost.

Q. How much time is required to get approval for ETIAS?

The response comes on the same day just after the submission of an ETIAS Application. In case, if there is any delay in the approval of ETIAS, it may take up to four days for its approval.

Q. What do I need to do if my ETIAS application is disapproved?

 You need to apply for a traditional visa for the countries you want to visit if your ETIAS application is disapproved.

Latest News about ETIAS

Find out more about ETIAS

Airline Miles and Points: Going to Cooler Places for Less

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Latest posts by GoNOMAD Contributors (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top
Skip to content